latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email

2003-01-17 - 12:20 p.m.

New Year's Eve in Cuzco

My pictures from New Year's Eve are blurry, much like my memories of the evening. I had dinner with Melch and Francis (Jim bowed out at the last minute, preferring to spend a virtual New Year's Eve on MSN Messenger with his friends back in London). Then we went back to our hostel to meet up with two French couples, one Australian girl, a bottle of rum, and a bottle of Coke.

Around 10, we walked back up to Plaza de Armas, along with everyone else in Cuzco.

People swarmed the square...

...and fireworks were shot off indiscrimately around us, regardless of who might be in the way.

I had my digital camera out the entire time, and took pictures as randomly as the firecrackers shooting off at my feet.

I convinced someone to take a picture of me and Francis and Melchior.

At midnight, fireworks went off. But they paled in comparison to the confusion surrounding us.

previous - next

latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email