latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email

2005-06-13 - 10:14 p.m.

Hi. I graduated from graduate school. This event was made notable by the fact that not only did both my parents and my stepparents attend, but we all went out to dinner together, as a family, and engaged in conversation, the whole dinner long (so there was no need for the ancillary reading material I'd brought along, in a last minute panicked gesture). If you don't know me or my family, then you have no idea how momentous an occasion this was. Quite honestly, I don't remember ever seeing my parents talk (not fight) with each other. They reminisced about college (my mother, who can't remember where she put her car keys, did remember both first and last names of every person she and my father knew in college). My mom talked to my stepmom. My dad talked to my stepdad. And I got to spend the weekend with my family, both sides of it, all at once.

previous - next

latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email