latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email

2004-01-05 - 7:53 p.m.

Down Argentine Way, Part VII



Yes, I know Argentina isn't an island. I just liked the color blue.

Travel Time:
San Juan to Buenos Aires = 16 hours



Why Sara Doesn't Like to Speak Spanish (second in a series)

Scene: The bus station with Melch, Nadja, and Pol, as I attempt to buy a bottle of water for the overnight bus ride back to Buenos Aires.
Me: Water, please.
Shop clerk: [puzzled expression]
Me: Water?
Shop clerk: What?
Me: Water?
Shop clerk: [holding up bottle of water and pointing to it] This? You want this?
Melch, Nadja, and Pol: [stifled giggles behind me]

And then I took the overnight bus to Buenos Aires, bummed around the city for the day, and caught a flight that night back to Washington, D.C.

Yes, I know Argentina isn't an island. I just liked the color blue.

And why am I updating this now, seven months after getting back? Well, I'm Mexico right now, and thought it would be nice to catch up on the journal in case I felt like updating. I don't know if I will feel like updating, but who knows? I came down to Mexico for the wedding of my friends Stuart & Araceli, and because in the crazy unreal world of graduate school, classes don't start til the 20th, I have all this time, and am lingering, slowly working my way north by bus. I've spent the weekend in Guanajuato, take the bus tomorrow to Zacatecas for a few days, and hope to make it to Copper Canyon before crossing the border. It's strange to be doing this again, and strange to be doing this for such a short time, but it's also quite nice. I never knew how easy it was to get to Mexico from Austin. One bus ride, and you're in an entirely different world.

previous - next

latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email