latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email

2003-07-04 - 12:46 p.m.

Down Argentine Way, Part II



Yes, I know Argentina isn't an island. I just liked the color blue.

Travel Time:
Buenos Aires to Salta: 20 hours (overnight bus)



I met Melch in Salta. He'd been traveling for seven months at that point, and you could tell - he was pale and wan and thin. He didn't get excited about things anymore. I couldn't help but think that I would be the same way after traveling for that long. Conversation was awkward, and wasn't helped by the fact that there just wasn't that much to do in Salta. So we ate, and shopped, and ate some more, and rode the cable car so that I could see the mountains. When you're in the city, you don't notice how close you are to the mountains.

The cable car was made in Switzerland, just like Melch.

previous - next

latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email