latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email

2003-01-21 - 2:27 p.m.

Valle de la Luna
La Paz, Bolivia

I went to Valle de la Luna because I was tired of walking around the city, and I'd already seen The Two Towers, and it wasn't that far away, and Jamie had recommended it. Before going, I wanted to get pictures of the jubilados marching (I'd seen them every day, but never had my camera on me). It was only after I had taken my pictures that I realized that we were closing down the very street where I had to catch my bus. Smart, huh? The tourist office directed me to an alternate street, I found the right bus, and even spotted two other tourists on my bus, whom I carefully watched so I would know where to get off (turns out we all missed the right stop, and had to walk back about ten minutes or so, but they were nice enough to befriend me, and we spent the afternoon together).

I had been deterred from going by my two French couple friends, whom I ran into almost as soon as I reached La Paz, who had gone and not liked it so much. They complained there was nothing to do there. For the record, Valle de la Luna is just some weird rock formations outside of town. That's about it. No shopping. No markets. Just rocks. But that's what I liked about it.

previous - next

latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email