latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email

2001-10-16 - 2:39 p.m.

My Trip to Atlanta � A Tale Told by the Numbers

Time spent in the Austin airport, waiting for the weather in Houston to clear up: 4 hours
Time spent in the plane, sitting on the runway: 1 hour
Time spent rushing around the Houston airport, trying to find someone who could get me on a later flight to Atlanta: 1 hour
Amount of times I began to think that wheeled suitcases really are a good idea: 12 (approx.)

Number of guilty remarks made by my sister Emma on the infrequency of my visits (�I don�t know why you come all this way and then you don�t have time to play with me.�): 1
Number of lunches eaten with Emma at her school cafeteria: 1
Amount of time spent playing tag with Emma and her first grade classmates, where, for the first time ever, I was the coolest kid in the schoolyard: 30 minutes

Amount of time it took to drive from Marietta to East Atlanta, to meet Adrienne: 1 hour and 45 minutes
Amount of time Adrienne waited for me in East Atlanta: 45 minutes
Number of long distance phone calls made by Adrienne to my cell phone to determine where exactly in East Atlanta I was: 1
Total amount of time spent with Adrienne: 1 hour

Number of times I could almost see why people live in Atlanta, as I traversed back streets through little neighborhoods trying to avoid traffic: 1

Number of meals eaten at Tortilla�s, my favorite burrito place ever: 1
Number of stomachaches after aforementioned meal: 1 (but possibly caused by stress over seeing ex-boyfriend)

Number of hours spent at the Red Light Caf�, to see my ex-boyfriend�s band: 5
Number of amazingly good conversations with someone at the Red Light who is as infatuated with This American Life and The West Wing as I am: 1
Number of people seen at the Red Light who were in my homeroom in high school and currently date one of Trey�s band mates: 1
Hours slept that night: 4

Number of weddings attended: 1

Amount of time spent talking to Molly at the wedding: 15 minutes
Amount of time spent wishing Molly would adopt me and let me live at her house forever and ever: 15 minutes (and on and off since then)
Number of times Molly asked me when I was moving back to Atlanta: 3

Number of years since I�ve seen Mean Brian: almost 4
Number of years since I�ve seen Frenchy Brian: 5
Number of years since I�ve seen Brian from my college dorm: at least six
Number of years since I�ve thought of Brian from my college dorm: at least six (amazing who you run into at weddings)

Number of times while driving that I listened to The Wedding Present�s Seamonsters, which I only own on tape, and therefore never listen to (coincidentally enough, Mean Brian was the one who introduced me to The Wedding Present): 4

Number of strippers seen at the Clermont Lounge: 2 (but I was only there half an hour or so)

Number of herons as big as Emma seen in my dad�s backyard: 1

Number of times spent wondering if Coke tasted better in Atlanta, like Guinness is supposed to taste better in Irelend, and best in Dublin, where it�s brewed: 1

Number of times spent marvelling at how familiar the trees look in Atlanta: 3 (at least)

Number of fights I had with my dad: 0
Number of fights I had with my mom: 0
Number of fights I had with my stepdad: 0
Number of fights I had with my stepmom: 0
Number of emotional breakdowns: 0

So yeah, I�d say this trip went better than the last one.

previous - next

latest | older | diaryland | guestbook | email